Kansas Department of Revenue Division of Vehicles (2023)

Click on a link below to go directly to that section.

You will need proof of lawful presence, proof of social security number, two proofs of Kansas residential address, and proof of legal name change if your name is not the same now as shown on your lawful presence document. Please visit https://ksrevenue.gov/pdf/de56a.pdf for a detailed list of acceptable documents.

No, the birth certificate must be certified and issued by vital statistics or equivalent agency from your birth state, a U.S. territory, or the District of Columbia.

Depending on your child’s visa classification, USCIS will mail to your child either a permanent resident card or a Certificate of Citizenship and either of those documents will be an acceptable proof of lawful presence.

You may file a Form N-565 by visiting https://www.uscis.gov/n-565, OR you may choose to obtain a U.S. passport for your child. Please visit www.travel.state.gov for more information.

The written exam may now be completed from a laptop or desktop computer outside of the driver’s license office by visiting https://ks.knowtodrive.com/.

Please note, the online written exam is not compatible with Internet Explorer.

You may visit https://www.ksrevenue.gov/pdf/dlhb.pdf to view or print the online PDF version or you may visit the driver’s license office to purchase a printed version for $2.00.

Yes, you will be asked if you would like to register to vote during issuance.

No, an identification card may be obtained at any age.

Appointments are recommended, as they receive priority. Please visit https://www.ksrevenue.gov/DOVAppointmentInfo/ to schedule an appointment.

Yes, those do expire after 2 years.

(Video) New mobile drivers license offices help Kansans beat the line

No, online courses do not meet the requirements for a driver's license in Kansas. The only programs that are approved by the Kansas for driver’s education purposes are programs offered through a local, accredited school district which have been approved by the Kansas Department of Education. Please note: a certificate of completion from an online driver’s education course will not be accepted for licensure. If you are unsure whether or not a program has been approved by the Kansas Department of Education, you may contact the Department of Education at 785-296-8107 or the Kansas Division of Vehicles at 785-296-3671.

During the 2003 Legislative Session, Kansas lawmakers passed a bill, requiring that the Social Security number must be collected from everyone that applies for a driver’s license or ID card. This law became effective July 1, 2003.

During the 2003 Legislative Session, Kansas lawmakers passed a bill, requiring that we send the Selective Service System information on all male applicants that are at least 16 years of age, but less than 26. This law became effective July 1, 2003.

Back to top

Renewing

No, at this time you will only need to present those documents once to add REAL ID.
This is subject to change at the discretion of Homeland Security.

Yes, if you already have a REAL ID license, that will remain.

Appointments are recommended, as they receive priority. Please visit https://www.ksrevenue.gov/DOVAppointmentInfo/ to schedule an appointment.

Yes, please visit https://www.ksrevenue.gov/pdf/demi1.pdf and follow the directions on the attached application to apply for a license renewal.

Since the fees do vary, please visit https://www.ksrevenue.gov/pdf/dmvlicfees.pdf for your exact fee.

The vision exam is the only exam required every renewal.

Yes, once your license is expired for 1 year or more, you are required to complete a vision, written, and driving exam.

(Video) Senate Transportation Committee 01/26/2021

Back to top

Replacing

You will need to provide two proofs of identity and a proof of current residential address. Please visit https://ksrevenue.gov/pdf/de56a.pdf for a list of acceptable documents.

If you will be at that address for at least 45 more days, you may follow the directions on the application at https://www.ksrevenue.gov/pdf/demi1.pdf to apply for a replacement.
Since it can take up to 45 days for a credential to arrive in the mail, please only apply if you will be at that address for 45 days or more to prevent delivery issues.

Yes, if you are within 1 year of your expiration date, you may renew at the same time.

For a license, the replacement fee is $16.00 and for an ID the replacement fee is $12.00.

The new credential will have invalidated the old one, so you will want to either cut the old one in half or tuck it away, so it won’t get confused with your new one. An old license or ID may be used as a proof of identity in the future if needed, so we recommend keeping those.

Appointments are recommended, as they receive priority. Please visit https://www.ksrevenue.gov/DOVAppointmentInfo/ to schedule an appointment.

During the 2003 legislative session, Kansas lawmakers passed a bill requiring that an individual could hold either a valid Kansas driver’s license or a valid Kansas ID card, but not both.

Back to top

Making Changes

REAL ID may be added at any time.

You will need to provide your Kansas credential, proof of legal name change, and proof of current residential address.

For a license, the fee is $16.00 and for an ID, the fee is $12.00.
Please note: The Kansas duplicate marriage licenses cannot be accepted.

Yes, you will be asked if you would like to register or update your voter registration during issuance.

(Video) Senate Transportation Committee 01/26/2021

Yes, you may visit the driver’s license office with your license and a proof of current residential address to be issued an updated license.

The fee would be $8.00.

We apologize for any human errors. Please visit the driver’s license office to have those corrected at no additional charge.

Appointments are recommended, as they receive priority. Please visit https://www.ksrevenue.gov/DOVAppointmentInfo/ to schedule an appointment.

Provide acceptable proof of identity, pass a vision test, motorcycle written test, and a skill test on a motorcycle, or complete an approved motorcycle driver’s education course. For a list of approved schools you may call the Kansas Department of Education at 785-296-8107 or obtain a list on their website.

Provide acceptable proof of identity, pass a vision test and written test.

Present the Death Certificate or the Obituary Notice in person or by mail to a local driver license office, along with the credential, and the record will be updated accordingly.

Back to top

Out-of-State Transfer

You will need proof of lawful presence, proof of social security number, two proofs of Kansas residential address, your out of state license, and proof of legal name change if your name is not the same now as shown on your lawful presence document. Please visit https://ksrevenue.gov/pdf/de56a.pdf for a detailed list of acceptable documents.

Yes. You will need proof of lawful presence, proof of social security number, two proofs of Kansas residential address, your out of state license, and proof of legal name change if your name is not the same now as shown on your lawful presence document. Please visit https://ksrevenue.gov/pdf/de56a.pdf for a detailed list of acceptable documents.

Temporary credentials cannot be accepted. You will need to provide a motor vehicle record or clearance letter from your state of issuance to transfer.

No, testing will be required in the state of Kansas.

(Video) House Transportation Committee 02/15/2023

Appointments are recommended, as they receive priority. Please visit https://www.ksrevenue.gov/DOVAppointmentInfo/ to schedule an appointment.

You will need to provide a motor vehicle record or clearance letter from your state of issuance.

Kansas does reciprocate with Canada, Palau, Marshall Islands, The Federated States of Micronesia, all U.S. territories, and Taiwan. If your license is from another country, you will be required to complete a vision, written, and driving exam to obtain a Kansas license.

No, you will not be eligible for a Kansas license with any out of state holds.

You have 90 days after establishing residency.

Back to top

Not receiving my credential in the mail

At this time, the credentials are not mailed with tracking.

While most arrive in 14-20 days, it can take up to 45 days.

No, the credentials are mailed with “Return Service Requested”, so they will not forward.

Since you are no longer a Kansas resident, you would not be eligible for a Kansas credential. However, you may visit https://www.kansas.gov/ssrv-mvr-ltd/ to purchase and print an MVR honored in most states to be used to transfer your Kansas license.

Please visit the driver’s license office with your temporary license and a proof of current residential address to be issued a replacement.

Unless there was an error on the address entered in the system, there will be a $16.00 replacement fee.

All returned credentials are immediately destroyed to protect the identity of Kansas residents. Please visit the driver’s license office with two proofs of identity and a proof of current residential address to be issued a replacement.
Please resolve any issues with the post office prior to applying for a replacement.

(Video) Legislative Post Audit Committee 04/22/2022


Back to top

FAQs

How do I get a copy of my car title in Kansas? ›

Lost Titles

If you lost a title that did not have a lien listed on the face of the document, you must fill out an application for a duplicate title (TR-720B) and bring it, along with a copy of current vehicle registration, to any one of the tag offices.

How do I check the title of my car in Kansas? ›

Kansas Title Request

To check the status of title for a vehicle or any relevant information, run a title lookup through Vehicle Title Status Check at the official Kansas Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle website. Enter a VIN, Vehicle Make, Model and Vehicle Year to retrieve title information.

What do I need to renew tags in Kansas? ›

What will I need to renew my tags?
  1. The registration renewal notice that you received in the mail.
  2. Proof of insurance.
  3. Form of payment - cash or check, money order, cashier's check made payable to Sedgwick County Treasurer, or Discover, Visa/MasterCard and American Express.

How do I pay my tags online in Kansas? ›

Go to https://ikan.ks.gov. Pay by eCheck or by credit card. There is a convenience fee charged by the payment processor. Requires a PIN number located on your on your vehicle registration renewal notice.

Videos

1. Senate Transportation Committee 03/17/2021
(KS Legislature)
2. Senate Committee on Transportation 01/24/2023
(KS Legislature)
3. Senate Assessment and Taxation Committee 02/14/2023
(KS Legislature)
4. House General Government Budget 2/15/22
(KS Legislature)
5. Joint Committee on Administrative Rules and Regulations 10/18/2022
(KS Legislature)
6. House Committee on Transportation 01/10/2023
(KS Legislature)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Mr. See Jast

Last Updated: 14/10/2023

Views: 5749

Rating: 4.4 / 5 (75 voted)

Reviews: 82% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Mr. See Jast

Birthday: 1999-07-30

Address: 8409 Megan Mountain, New Mathew, MT 44997-8193

Phone: +5023589614038

Job: Chief Executive

Hobby: Leather crafting, Flag Football, Candle making, Flying, Poi, Gunsmithing, Swimming

Introduction: My name is Mr. See Jast, I am a open, jolly, gorgeous, courageous, inexpensive, friendly, homely person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.